Mango Chutney, Beef Curry

Posted on March 15, 2013

0



Oh people, get ready. I’m about to make you really hate the fact there’s no Forsyth Farmers’ Market tomorrow because you’re gonna have to wait a week to pick up what I’m about to put down.

mango-chutneyThe Setup
Pat, of Vegetable Kingdom, found out I was blogging about the market and farmers, and promptly offered me a jar of my choice in exchange for a post. (YES. I am living one of my dreams.)

I chose what any self-respecting half-Indian redneck must choose: Mango Chutney, yo.

Definition: Chutney

A sometimes sweet, sometimes spicy, sometimes both, condiment usually made from fruits, vegetables and/or herbs, served primarily as an accompaniment, and brought to us from the flavor-brilliant Indian traditions.


Use #1: Direct consumption using my fingers

The point here is that you try it without the interruption of other flavors. Vegetable Kingdom’s is on the sweeter (in a good way) side of chutneys, with nice chunks of mango and peppers and a gingery essence.

Use #2: Savory Wasa Stacks

I hosted Breakfast For Dinner on Sunday. One person brought Wasa crackers and a mild cheddar, the perfect party appetizer. Another brought bacon, the perfect complement to our evening breakfast.

And then…magic happened: someone found the jar of Mango Chutney and created little stacks of crispbread, fancy cheese, BACON, and mango chutney and I got so distracted I forgot to take a picture. Try this; you will love it.

IMG_1225Use #3: (Haute) Beef Curry

Because I had it, I made mine with a Pineywoods filet mignon from Revival Foods. Totally unnecessary and luxurious. You could use any stew cut.

  • mustard oil
  • onion
  • fresh ginger
  • garlic
  • chili peppers
  • whole cumin seeds
  • peppercorns
  • whole cloves
  • stick cinnamon

IMG_1227Saute until onions are translucent. Feel free to add mustard seeds, ground coriander, bay leaf, etc.

  • beef cubes
  • ground spices like garam masala, turmeric, coriander, cardamom, cayenne
  • if you want to get real authentic, pick yourself up some asafoetida, amchur, or fenugreek

Brown the beef over medium to medium-high heat. Stir in:

  • cauliflower florets
  • eggplant cubes

Add a little water to moisten, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer for 45-60 minutes.

Feel free to add some sort of tomato product, coconut milk, other vegetables, and/or a sweetening agent. And be sure to use fresh spices (i.e. not already in a can on a shelf) or grind your own (yeah, right).

I served this with papadum, sriracha, Vegetable Kingdom’s Mango Chutney, and, though not pictured, a Sweetwater IPA.

Thanks!

Many thanks to Pat for the chutney and the impetus! Check out the Vegetable Kingdom website for ways to find all of their products, which include soups, marinades, jams, dressings, sauces and more. You can, of course, find them every week at the Forsyth Farmers’ Market!

